My Blog My World

Collection of Online Publications

Lost My Old Data

My old employer Samakal has launched new website. It is really better than the previous one. But I have lost all data. I really have not thought to collect the printed version of my post and news stories. I thought that the server’s data storage would be enough to show those as my past works. But it is really painful if I loose my documents of past two or three years. Same thing happened to me when another news website (Bhorer Kagoj) had reset its server.

I believe that the news website should keep their old data as archive. It is not only important for the employee like us but also for the researchers and readers.

I became sad when I came to know that the news sites are not eager to keep old news in their archives just to save money. It is not good- I believe.

So far I know, some world famous newspapers are keeping the scanned copy of their printed version at their archives. They had no online edition at that time. But they are keeping those for the future generation. What is the problem if we follow them?

November 7, 2009 - Posted by | Media, Personal | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

